top of page

Star Wars Episode IV a New Hope


Synopsis:

The Imperial Forces -- under orders from cruel Darth Vader (David Prowse) -- hold Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) hostage, in their efforts to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) and Hans Solo (Harrison Ford), captain of the Millennium Falcon, work together with the companionable droid duo R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) and C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) to rescue the beautiful princess, help the Rebel Alliance, and restore freedom and justice to the Galaxy.

Spoiler Review:

I remember when I was a little kid, about 3 years old, my father introduced me to "Star Wars Episode IV A New Hope" (just "Star Wars") and this movie changed my life. It is one of my favorite movies of all time; it introduced me to the power of imagination as it brought me to a galaxy far away and showed me how to appreciate the art of creativity. It is the reason why I love the world of movies to this day. "Star Wars" is the story of a young farmer named Luke Skywalker who teams up with an old Jedi master named Obi-wan Kenobi and a smuggler named Hans Solo, captain of the Millennium Falcon to rescue Princess Leia from the evil cruel Darth Vader. Every time I watch this film, I am still blown away by how great the visual effects are, even though the film is 40 years old. The reason behind this phenomenon is that director, George Lucas was practical and he used real sets and locations to film this movie. Mark Hamill is great as Luke Skywalker with his charisma, good looks and dream big attitude. Harrison Ford plays Hans Solo and he is one of the most beloved characters in cinematic history because he balances scoundrel and hero perfectly. The late Carrie Fisher plays Princess Leia and had great chemistry with co-star characters Luke and Hans Solo and the vision of the young beauty wearing the gold bikini and famous hair-do will forever be etched in Star Wars fans' minds forever. The legendary actor, Alec Guinness plays Obi-wan Kenobi. Guinness's portrayal of the wise mentor and master of Luke Skywalker is heartwarming and memorable with his eye contact exchanges and unforgettable dialogue. Every time I see the scene where Obi-wan fights Darth Vader and he decides to sacrifice himself to save Luke and his friends, I get emotional. No movie is great without a great villain and Darth Vader is one of the greatest villains of all time; he was frightening, ruthless and threatening, especially with his dark mask and raspy voice, every time he was on screen. One of my favorite scenes in the entire movie has to be the X-wing assault on the Death Star as Hans Solo saves Luke from Darth Vader then Luke uses his force to blow up the Death Star. With its great visual effects and explosive, heart racing, nail-biting exciting action scenes, this movie is a must see. "Star Wars Episode IV A New Hope" is one movie that is hard to imitate in modern day films and definitely paved the way science fiction movies are made today. As you can tell, I am a huge fan and I am giving "Star Wars Episode IV A New Hope a 5 out of 5 stars.

Director: George Lucas

Cast: Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Alec Guinness, Peter Crushing, Anthony Daniels, Kenny Baker, Peter Mayhew, David Prowse and James Earl Jones.

Runtime: 124 minutes

bottom of page