top of page

A Simple Favor


Synopsis: a Simple Favor is directed by Paul Feig, centers around Stephanie (Anna Kendrick), a mommy vlogger who seeks to uncover the truth behind her best friend Emily's (Blake Lively) sudden disappearance from their small town.

Movie Review:

"A Simple Favor” is a fun twisted mystery film that had me guessing until the very end and it was one of the most surprising film I have seen in 2018 and it is one of my favorites to . A Simple Favor is directed by Paul Feig which centers around around Stephanie ( Anna Kendrick) a Mommy vlogger who seeks to uncover the truth behind her best friend Emily’s ( Blake Lively) who Sudden disappearance from the small town. I am a sucker for mystery films and this is one of the best one I have seen a long time. It seems Like Paul Feig took elements from Gone girl some themes from earlier Hitcock films and some of Paul Feig’s humor which mostly worked he also made this movie feel new and fresh with some new ideas I haven’t seen in a mystery film before I was very surprised of how funny this movie was all thanks to Anna Kendrick’s witty, engaging, and naive single mother who is trying to be the best mom around. Blake Lively and Anna kendrick have great chemistry with each other they were electric, and funny together when they were on screen together. The actor that stole the show for me was Blake lively who plays Emily in the film she was Intimidating, Psychotic, and unpredictable as the lead in this movie this is one of her best roles since The Town and The Age Of Adaline even though she was in some bad movies in the past like Green lantern which we shouldn’t talk about ever again but this film really redeemed herself for me and I can’t wait to see her in more projects. The twists in this movie are unpredictable and surprising even through sometimes they used some elements in previous Mysteries I have seen before in other movies. The only Problem I have in this film has to be that some of the pacing kinda drags a little and it feels longer than an hour and 57 minutes long A Simple Favor is a fun twisted mystery, thriller, dark comedy film that really surprised me this year with strong performances from both Anna Kendrick and Blake Lively make this a must see for everyone who loves thrillers and this Paul feign bets work maybe since Bridesmaids. I am going to give A Simple favor a 4/5 Stars.

Director: Paul Feig

Cast:Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, Henry Golding, Andrew Rannells, Ian Ho, Joshua Satine, Glenda Braganza, Kelly McCormack, Aparna Nancherla, Dustin Milligan, and Jean Smart

Runtime: 117 minutes

bottom of page