top of page

Widows


Synopsis: A police shootout leaves four thieves dead during an explosive armed robbery attempt in Chicago. Their widows -- Veronica, Linda, Alice and Belle -- have nothing in common except a debt left behind by their spouses' criminal activities. Hoping to forge a future on their own terms, Veronica joins forces with the other three women to pull off a heist that her husband was planning.

Movie Review:

“Widows” is directed by Academy Award winning director Steve McQueen and is a heist film about 4 women who have to pull off a heist that one of there late husband Was planning and succeed. This film was a mix bag with outstanding lead performances from its main cast like Viloa Davis, Michelle Rodrigues and Elizabeth Debicki are had strong performance in the lead roles they were are strong women. Elizabeth Debicki was the most surprising for me she had the most emotional arc and the best acted scenes with the main cast. Viloa Davis is of course fantastic as usual and showed that she is one of the best actresses right now you feel for her character and you can relate to her. The supporting cast was great to that includes Colin Ferrel who is always good, Robert Duvall, Liam Neeson and other classic actors but there not really likable characters and you can’t very relate to them. Daniel Kaluuya Who I loved in “Get Out” I felt that his character was chilling but I felt like his character was just to cheesy and too ridicules and acted like he was this evil James Bond villain. One of my main problems with this film were some of the sub plots that felt are unnecessary and like there was a scene with Alice played by Elizabeth Debicki who starts having a no strings attached with some random guy just felt unnecessary and it lead now where for the plot. There was another awkward scenes with Michelle Rodriguez that involves a couch just felt uncomfortable and very silly there were a few scene just like this. I love heist films but they add to much Political talk that kind off slowed the movie down for me and I didn’t care for that side of the story. But I dint care about the scenes of Veronica, Alice,Linda, Belle plan for this big heist that they are going to do and the conversations that they had are one the best scenes I The Who entire film. Also Cynthia Erivo as Belle Wass such a standout and thus women is a star she is do good in this film when she shows up she shines in every scene. When the third act does happen and they start this big heist I felt nothing it wasn’t suspenseful or intense It felt it was too easy and they got out 1 2 3 even though these women were not even professionals and they got away pretty easily. There was a pretty good twist in the move that I didn’t see coming> Widows is a frustrating movie for me I still enjoyed it with great directions, a tight script, and great acting but some of the elements fo the film just didn’t work for me like Daniel Kaluuya over the top performance and some awkward scenes that just felt unnecessary I wish I loved this movie but to much political talk didn’t work for me I still enjoyed this movie. I am going to give "Widows" a 3 out of 5 stars.

Director: Steve McQueen

Cast: Viloa Davis, Michelle Rodriguez, Elizabeth Debicki, Cynthia Ervio, Colin Ferrell, Brian Tyree Henry, Daniel Kaluuya, Jacki Weaver, Carrie Coon with Robert Duvall and Liam Neeson

Runtime: 129 minutes

bottom of page