top of page

Fantastic Beast: The Crimes of Grindelwald


Synopsis: In an effort to thwart Grindelwald's plans of raising pure-blood wizards to rule over all non-magical beings, Albus Dumbledore enlists his former student Newt Scamander, who agrees to help, unaware of the dangers that lie ahead. Lines are drawn as love and loyalty are tested, even among the truest friends and family, in an increasingly divided wizarding world.

Movie Review:

“Fantastic Beasts The Crime’s of Grindelwald” is a Prequel an the second movie in he Fantastic Beast franchise. I am not the biggest potter head I like all of the movies I thought the first Fantastic Beats film was decent but I really like this one I Can see I critics all hating on this film but I really enjoyed this film desperate its many flaws.Crimes Of Grindelwald is the second installment of the Fantastic Beast’s series and it finds Albus Dumberdore enlists his former student Newt Scamander, who agrees to stop Gridelwald’s plan’s of raising pure- blood wizards to rule over all non-magical beings. There is a lot of things I liked and disliked about this movie I will start with the positives. First I really liked the world building in this movie they reeky expanded the world of Hogwarts and the wizarding world in genre. The Cast in this movie is great the Characters I liked were Newt Scamander ( Eddie Ramayne) Tina Goldstein ( Katherine Waterson) they both had great chemistry with each other and both of these characters had the best storyline in the entire movie these were the only main characters I really cared about in the entire movie. Eddie Ramayne once again was great as Newt he was awkward, nervous and somehow he makes it work with without making it feel cringeworthy to watch. The character that I loved in this film has to Albus Dumberdore Played by Jude Law he was brilliant in the role he was charismatic, and thoughtful he brought the same energy as the Richard Harris, and Michael Gambon who played Dumberdore in the previous movies I wish he was in the movie more because he was only on screen for maybe 15 minutes. The Character to me that steals the show has to be Gridelwald played by Jonny Depp in the film he has to is the best villain since Voldemort back in the Harry Potter films he was intimidating, powerful, and I could tell why people would fear him and I can Understand why some wizards would want to follow him of his plan to take control of the non- wizrading world from the humans. Lets talk about the things I didn’t not like well some of the film was a mess narratively there were to many subplots happening all around and I was confused where we were in the movie sometimes. The subplot that I really did mot like was the Credence Barebone’s ( Ezra Miller) story I just did’t care about his story and his arc was just boring and unnecessary and it took me out of the film each time and I wanted to skip this part and just see what Nute and Tina were doing. There were just way to many characters to keep track of and some of them besides the characters I named in my review I just didn’t know who they were and couldn’t care less of what happened to them. Finally I feel like the film dragged sometimes in few spots and I feel like the movie should have been cut by 15 minutes shorter.There is a twist in the film and this twist might upset some Hardcore Harry Potter fans about Credence’s family overall I liked the twist but I felt like it might have shrieked the universe a bit. Fantastic Beast The Crimes of Grindewald is an enjoyable film with alot of fun surprises that will pleas die hard Potter Fans desperate its many flaws with the script I still enjoyed this movie I like this one more than the first Fantastic beast film and thats why I am going to give Fantastic Beast The Crime’s of Gridewald a 3/5 stars.

Director: David Yates

Cast: Eddy Redmayne, Katherine Waterson, Dan Fogler, Jonny Depp, Carmen Ejogo, Wolf Roth, Zoe Kravitz, Callum Turner, Derek Riddell, Alison Sudol, Cornell John, Ezra Miller, and Jude Law

Runtime: 134 minutes

bottom of page