top of page

Aquaman


Synopsis: Once home to the most advanced civilization on Earth, the city of Atlantis is now an underwater kingdom ruled by the power-hungry King Orm. With a vast army at his disposal, Orm plans to conquer the remaining oceanic people -- and then the surface world. Standing in his way is Aquaman, Arm’s half-human, half-Atlantean brother and true heir to the throne. With help from royal counselor Vulko, Aquaman must retrieve the legendary Trident of Atlan and embrace his destiny as protector of the deep.

Movie review: Aquaman is the 6th DC movie in it its shared universe and after Justice League I was checked out of the DC extended Universe but thanks to Aquaman I am back into this universe. Aquaman is a fun, action packed spectacle with breathtaking visual effects that make you believe you are in Atlantis. Aquaman is about Arthur Curry learns that he is the heir to the underwater kingdom of Atlantis, and he must stop his half brother King Orm from conquering the the surface world in order for Arthur to stop him he must retrieve the all and powerful trident to lead his people and be the hero to Atlantis. Overall I really enjoyed this movie but not everything in Aquaman was great sometimes there were some moments I would have done like an octopus playing on the drums and some of the dialogue was bit cringe worthy, and some of the humor that they tried to do fell flat. The film felt a little long and it should have been 10 minutes but these issues did not effect my overall enjoyment of the film. Now that I have listed all of my negatives of Aquaman I can now list the things that I really enjoyed in the movie I really believed that Jason Momoa was a perfect to play aquaman he was charismatic, Bad ass, and funny as the tilted hero in this movie he took elements of the new 52 comic and some how he made it work. Amber Herd who plays Mera the love interest in the film was also pretty great she was beautiful, rebellious, who believed in what was right for Atlantis. I really loved there chemistry with each other they were cute. and fondness with each other by setting up their relationship with each other but my only criticism with the romance was that I was not a fan about the kiss during the final battle it just took me out of the movie and I thought to my self shouldn’t Aquaman face Orm and stop him than sucking face with your girlfriend but okay it was only for few seconds and it didn’t make hate the film at all it was just a nit pick I had. The Villian I the film Orm aka the Ocean Master played by Patrick Wilson who was good he was formidable and fearsome as Arthur’s half brother but feel like he was sometimes over the top and cheezy in good way he was probably the second best DC villain tied with Zod in Man of Steel. Now lets talk about The other Villain in the film Black Manta played by Yahaya Abdul Mateen II he was fine to me he was the weakest perfermance in the movie yes I understand why he wants revenge for his father’s death but to me he was just to over the top for me. The action in Aquaman is probably the best in any of the DC Universe films it was well choreographed, and filmed in such a way where no comic book films have ever done before. My favorite fight scene has to be the opening fight scene between Atlanta ( Nicole Kidman) and the Atlantian Guards was awesome and well filmed. My other fight senes that I loved was the scene where Aquaman and Mera were in Italy fighting Black Manta was problem one of the best filmed, shot and choreographed sequence in the entire film it was stunning to watch on the big screen. Aquaman is my second favorite DC film just Behind Wonder Women it was fun, Cheesy, and over the top film and I am glad that Warner Brothers and DC was able let him do what ever film he wanted this was a huge win for DC and I can’t to see what they have next in store for the future of this franchise. I am going to give Aquaman a 3.5/5 stars.

Director: James Wan

Cast: Jason Momoa, Amber Heard, Patrick Wilson, William Dafoe, Dolph Lundgren, Yahya Abul- Mateen II, Temuera Morrison and Nicole Kidman

Runtime: 143 minutes

bottom of page