top of page

Aladdin


Synopsis: Young Aladdin embarks on a magical adventure after finding a lamp that releases a wisecracking genie.

Movie Review:

“Aladdin” is directed by Guy Richie and is the new Disney live action movie based on the popular animated movie of the mid 90s a movie that I grew up watching as a kid and I was hesitated and nervous about the movie but I am happy to say I actually enjoyed this movie form beginning to end. The movie did start off a little fast like you already know the whole Aladdin story that felt a little rushed but that was only for the first 5 minutes. I was very impressed with new young actor Mena Massoud who plays Aladdin was great because you have to buy that he was a street rat and you did he was also charming, funny and his relationship with his monkey Abu was funny and cute. He was also great with the musical numbers and he could sing very well. The movie was very well shot and the cinematography was beautiful. One of the best aspects of this movie was Naomi Scott who plays Princess Jasmine who was absolutely stunning, beautiful and she took my breath way when she sang “its who new World” that made me fall in love with her. You also brought the relationship and chemistry between Aladdin and Princess Jasmine it was romantic and felt real I loved it. One of the most surprising things in the movie was by far was Will Smith as the Genie he was refreshing, funny and brought his on take on the Genie that worked for me And I loved every second when Genie was on screen. I also loved the friendship between the Genie and Aladdin it also felt real. some of the CGI was iffy with the genie but again ti worked for me. Every Musical Number was amazing the music was perfect that reminded be of the 1990’s classic film including a new song that was performed by Naomi Scott called “Speechless was powerful and I loved it. The villain Jafar played by Marwan Kenzari was Fine and just payed the predicable Evil Disney Villain and I felt that his Performance Was a little over the top but I did Love Alan Tudyk as Lago the Bird of Jafar was funny and Entertaining. Another funny character was Jasmine’s Handmaid Dalia played by there funny Nasim Pedrad brought some surprising comedic moments with the Genie that I loved. The third act felt a little rushed and there were few slow motion scenes that felt out of place and weird and it took me out of the movie. But not the most part I very enjoyed this movie form the great musical number, fun relationship’s in the movie and Will Smith’s Genie stole the whole show. This was a fun summer movie even though it lacks some of the magic of the original animated movie. I am going to give "Aladdin" a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Director: Guy Richie

Cast: Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Nasim Pedrad, Marwan Kenzari, Billy Magnussen, Alan Tudyk, David Negahban and Numan Acar

Runtime: 128 minutes

bottom of page