top of page

Spiderman: Far From Home


Synopsis: Following the events of Avengers: Endgame, Spider-Man must step up to take on new threats in a world that has changed forever.

Movie Review:

"Spider-Man: Far From Home" is a sequel to 2017’s "Spider-Man: Homecoming" and it is the 23rd film in the MCU. I am a huge Spider-Man fan, I really enjoyed watching this film and it is probably one of my favorite Spider-Man films to date. It is action packed, funny at times and full of twists that you won't see coming. "Spider-Man: Far From Home" takes place right after "Avengers: Endgame" and it finds Peter Parker on a school trip with his friends in Europe where he gets recruited by Nick Fury to save the world. I loved Tom Holland as Peter Parker and I prefer him over Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield. Tom Holland just captures the spirt of a youthful Peter Parker with relative ease as if he owns this role; he is nerdy, charismatic and funny. Although I was not impressed with the character of MJ (Zendaya) in the "Homecoming" movie, she redeems herself in "Far from Home". MJ's combination of on-screen chemistry with Peter and sweet awkwardness make the audience love her again and root for this romantic pair. The action in the film is well choreographed and fast paced making the scenes exhilarating to watch on the big screen. Jake Gyllenhaal plays Mysterio/Quentin Beck and I think this is his best performance since his role in "Nightcrawler". I was intrigued by this character and he captivated my attention with his intimidation and deception, and I liked this villain better than Vulture in the last Spider-Man. There are some things I didn't like in this movie. For instance, I had a couple of issues with some of the characters — Ned who plays Peter’s best friend is funny at times but some of his jokes are repetitive and fall flat. And Brad is just annoying and lacks a story. There are also some pacing issues — the movie starts off slow until Peter goes to Europe than races through the middle and end of the film. However, "Spider-Man: Far From Home" is a great s summer blockbuster full of entertainment and surprise turns. I am giving "Spider-Man: Far From Home" a 4 out of 5 stars.

Director: John Watts

Cast: Tom Holland, Samuel l. Jackson, Marisa Tomei, John Favreau, Zendaya, Jacob Betalon, Tony Revolori, Angourie Rice, Remy Hii, Martin Starr, J.B. Smoove, Cobi Smulders, and Jake Gyllenhaal

Runtime: 129 minutes

bottom of page