top of page

The Rental


Synopsis: Two couples on an oceanside getaway grow suspicious that the host of their seemingly perfect rental house may be spying on them. Before long, what should have been a celebratory weekend trip turns into something far more sinister.

Movie Review:

“The Rental” was directed by Dave Franco (also his directorial debut) and is a horror home invasion movie. This movie grabbed my attention with a talented cast and very interesting set up, unfortunately after the first half hour, I found it to be a boring drama that quickly turns into a typical horror slasher film that I have seen 1,000 times. I did like the fact that Dave Franco tried to incorporate some classic horror elements from “Halloween” and “Texas Chainsaw Massacre” but he doesn't use them well. I loved the cast, but the characters are so one dimensional and unlikable that I could not root for them, even though I am a huge fan of Dan Stevens and Alison Brie. There is some bad awkward humor that fell flat throughout the film. I felt like I was watching a teen party movie. There was a twist at the end regarding who the killer was, but it was senseless and confusing. “The Rental” had potential to be very interesting with a talented cast and a good set up, but it was plagued by unlikable characters, strange comedy, and a predicable plot that was disappointing. I am giving “The Rental” 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Director: Dave Franco

Cast: Dan Stevens, Alison Brie, Jeremy Allen White, Sheila Vand, Toby Huss and Anthony Mollinari

Runtime: 88 minutes

bottom of page