top of page

Enola Holmes


Synopsis: While searching for her missing mother, intrepid teen Enola Holmes uses her sleuthing skills to outsmart big brother Sherlock and help a runaway lord.While searching for her missing mother, intrepid teen Enola Holmes uses her sleuthing skills to outsmart big brother Sherlock and help a runaway lord.

Movie Review:

“Enola Holmes” is a Netflix original movie which is a spinoff of Sherlock Holmes. The entertaining plot follows Sherlock’s sister Enola and is filled with humor and mystery. Enola Holmes is played by the young and talented Mille Bobby Brown and she portrays her charismatic character with wit and intellect. I loved how she tells the story from her point of view, which was a bold choice, but it worked in this movie. Henry Cavill plays Sherlock Holmes, and I wish he was in more of the movie, but I understand that he was not the main attraction. Sam Claflin plays Mycroft Holmes, Sherlock’s sarcastic brother and for me, he is definitely the standout character in the movie. I like the relationship between Enola and Tewkesbury (Louis Partridge). They had great chemistry on screen, and I believe that if they make future installments, they will become a couple in the next one. The story of “Enola Holmes” is about a teenager trying to find her missing mother; however, the plot is full of surprises and twists that will leave the audience guessing until the end. The only problems that I had with this movie is that Helen Bonham Carter who plays Eudoria Holmes (Enola’s mother) is a forgettable character because she wasn’t really in the film that much. Also, the villain, Linthorn (Burn Gorman) was a weak and boring character who only had few minutes of screen time. “Enola Holmes” is an enjoyable film from start to finish, and I hope Netflix makes a sequel. This is probably one of my favorite Netflix movies I have seen this year. I am going to give “Enola Holmes” a 4/5 stars.

Director:Harry Bradbeer

Cast:Millie Bobby Brown, Sam Claflin, Louis Patridge, Burn Gorman, Adeel Akhtar, Susan Wokoma, Hattie Morohan, Henry Cavill, and Helena Bonham Carter.

Runtime: 123 minutes

bottom of page