top of page

Malignant


Synopsis: Paralyzed by fear from shocking visions, a woman's torment worsens as she discovers her waking dreams are terrifying realities.


Movie Review:

“Malignant” is directed by James Wan who I believe is the master of horror in the 21st century, and he delivered one of the most bizarre, creative horror films that pays homage to the 1970’s horror classics. This film takes some chances with the story but has a clever twist that I didn’t see coming. Annabelle Wallis plays Madison who is traumatized with visions and dreams of death. Madison is a likeable character, and you feel sorry for her when you find out what happened to her when she was a child. I thought the actress Maddie Hasson who plays her sister Sydney was great and I loved their sister relationship. There are some emotional scenes between Madison and Sydney especially when Sydney uncovers past terrifying secrets. This movie has a haunting atmosphere that will stay with you long after the credits roll. I loved the acting in this film; however, it is very violent (blood and gore) and that will not be for everyone. I did have an issue with the ending of the movie which was disappointing -- I wanted a few more minutes. But that said, I enjoyed this film. I am giving “Malignant” a 4/5 stars.


Director: James Wan

Cast: Annabelle Wallis, Maddie Hasson, George Young, Michele Briana White, Jean Louisa Kelly, Susanna Thompson, Jake Abel, Ingrid Bisu and Mckenna Grace

Runtime: 111 minutes

Komentarze


bottom of page