top of page

Mulan


Synopsis: To save her ailing father from serving in the Imperial Army, a fearless young woman disguises herself as a man to battle northern invaders in China.


Movie Review:

Mulan” is a remake of the 1998 film with the same name and this movie is one of my favorite Disney live action remakes since the “Jungle Book”. It was exciting, action packed, and it told a really mature story about the legend we all grew up watching. “Mulan” is visually stunning to look at, and the action in the film is exciting, fast, and very well-choreographed. Yifei Liu plays Mulan the lead in the film; she is courageous, fearless, and a rebel who would do anything to save her father and her loved ones. I really loved her relationship with her father Zhou (Tzi Ma) which I believe is the heart of the film. Their scenes were emotional to watch. My favorite supporting character was Commander Tung played by Donnie Yen who was incredible doing most of the action in the movie. I really liked the villain Bori Khan (Jason Scott Lee) who was intimidating and frightening as this character. There were some complaints about the singing in the movie, but it didn’t bother me. It was still an action epic. “There are some negatives that I have about “Mulan.” The editing is shaky at times, and scenes switch way too quickly. And I did not like the other villain Xianniang the Witch (Li Gong). The character was boring, and she only had 30 seconds of screen time in the entire film. “Mulan” is as great as the original. I enjoyed this movie from start to finish. It was filled with action and beautiful to look at. I only wish I saw “Mulan” on the big screen. I am giving “Mulan” a 4/5 stars.


Director: Niki Caro

Cast: Yifei Liu, Donnie Yen, Li Gong, Jet Li, Jason Scott Lee, Yoson An, Rosalind Chao, Xana Tang, and Tzi Ma

Runtime: 115 minutes



Comments


bottom of page