top of page

Space Jam 2: A New Legacy


Synopsis: Superstar LeBron James and his young son, Dom, get trapped in digital space by a rogue AI. To get home safely, LeBron teams up with Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck and the rest of the Looney Tunes gang for a high-stakes basketball game against the AI's digitized champions of the court -- a powered-up roster called the Goon Squad.


Movie Review:

“Space Jam 2: A New Legacy” is directed by Malcolm D. Lee and it is the sequel to the 1996 cult classic with Michael Jordan (now it stars LeBron James). I thought this film is 10 years too late and, sadly, I didn’t like it. There were some comedic scenes and cute moments with Bugs Bunny and the Looney Tunes that made me laugh a little. I also enjoyed the villain AI played by Don Cheadle who was having so much fun playing this character. I really liked the addition of Zendaya who voices the character of Lola Bunny -- she is the only CGI character that was interesting and had a ‘wow’ presence in the film. My biggest criticism of the film is that it just feels like very long commercial for warner Brothers; every scene has a celebrity cameo performing a cheap joke that is not funny. Although I think LeBron James is a talented basketball player, unfortunately, he is not the best actor. He plays himself in the film, but his storyline was dull and uninteresting especially his relationship with his son played by Ceyair J. Wright. Also, some of the CGI was a bit distracting and it felt like I was a watching a cartoon that was way too long. As someone who grew up watching the 1996 film with Michael Jordan. I was really disappointed with this one. I am giving “Space Jam 2: A New Legacy” a 2 out of 5 stars.


Director: Malcolm D. Lee

Cast: Lebron James, Don Cheadle, Ceyair J. Wright, Kyrie Irving, Sonequa Martin-Green with Zendaya and Jeff Bergman

Runtime: 115 minutes

Comments


bottom of page